Year in Review: Q3 2015

This was a really fun summer. I don’t want to say I wasted last summer on a dude, but let’s face it – that’s what happened. I was really excited to not get broken up with on the 4th of July (who does that?) and to spend a lot of time with my friends and family doing fun New England summertime things.

Fourth of July + Kelly and John visiting

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 4.12.50 PM

If you know me, you know that the 4th of July is my Christmas. It is my absolute favorite day of the year – and this year was no different! My college roommate Kelly and her husband John decided to drive down for the festivities, and I’m so glad that I had the chance to spend time with them – especially now that they’re expecting their first addition to the family!

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 7.58.46 PM

Big thanks to these two dudes for helping me pull off an epic Fourth of July party! Chad on the grill and Eryn on decorations and carrying heavy stuff around – you two dudes are the best. I’m sad to think this coming year will be our last 4th of July as housemates, but am so glad we have had the chance to throw two absolutely epic parties together.

Cape Cod Vacation

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 7.59.40 PM

For the first time since before I moved away from Rochester (and since Bailee has come into our lives) we went on a family vacation! We spent a week together in an awesome little house on the Cape. I honestly can’t remember the last time I got to spend this much time with my family, and I will cherish the week that we had together for years to come. I hope this won’t be the last time we have the chance to do something like this!

#SAT11 Reunion

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 7.59.05 PM

Once I got back from the Cape, I got to spend time with my other family – Debauchery, Shade Room, SQUADDD, whatever our group chat is named at any given time. We have had this group chat going for four years now and we talk all day every day. However, since we all live across the country – this is the first time we had ALL been together in the same place! So as you can imagine, it was a hell of a time. Shout out to Emerald for introducing us to the game “shots and secrets” – I’ve never learned more or been so drunk with you people in my life.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Before E comments on this post, I must disclose that I was not actually a member of SAT 11, but I did manage to force my way into the group. They have no shot of getting rid of me – ever. 

Kurt and Hiang’s Wedding

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 4.33.24 PM

Kurt convinced an awesome (and intelligent, gorgeous, smart ass) girl to marry him and I couldn’t be happier. They had a brunch wedding, which was totally kick ass! Who doesn’t love a good bloody mary during cocktail hour? And breakfast food is the best. It was a gorgeous day and I’m so grateful I got to witness it (partially because I was still in disbelief, but mostly because I was so hyped for these two). Congrats, guys!

Other highlights:

  • Road trip to Vermont with Rosalie and Diana for Woodchuck Cider’s Music Fest. We also hit up Citizen Cider, Zero Gravity Brewing, and Queen City.
  • Becoming the co-chair of AmeriCorps Alums Boston and kicking off our board year.
  • Red Jacket Weekend – City Year hosted a killer event at Fenway Park. It was awesome.
  • Seeing the Foo Fighters live at Fenway Park with Diana.
  • Ashley’s 30th Birthday #nivenitup on the Cape.
  • Boston Beer Company’s National Meeting – always awesome to see all my Orientation and sales friends.

 

Leave a Reply

