Year in Review: Q2 2015

Looking back, this three month period was pretty insane. I travelled all over the place (which was awesome and stressful but worth it) and had a lot going on. There were also a bunch of things going on in Boston during this time as well, so even when I was home there was no rest for the weary. Now, I like to be busy – but god damn, this was insane.

Here’s where I was kicking around from April – June:

Columbia, SC (and Charleston, SC and Charlotte, NC)

I went to go visit my good friends Emerald and Damond (yes Emerald, I consider him to be my friend too…haha) because they had another baby! It was SO awesome to go down and check out Columbia and Charleston for the first time. That trip was full of beer, baby snuggles, laughter, and great food. I couldn’t have asked for better hosts!

Screen Shot 2015-12-12 at 3.12.40 PM

Big thank you to Emerald and Damond for taking me to a bunch of breweries! I got to check out: Conquest Brewing (these guys ruled – gave me a bunch of beer to take home), River Rat Brewery, Hunter-Gatherer Brewery and Alehouse (great spot for food and a pint if you find yourself in Columbia – thanks to Mike W. for coming to meet up!), Westbrook Brewing Co. (thanks to Mike O. for making the trip out to see me!), NoDa Brewing, and Birdsong Brewing. Great times.

Austin, TX

I always take one “beercation” a year, and while Columbia ended up being one without me planning ahead for it, Austin was where I planned to really dig into the local beer scene. I went to see my good friends Tim and Katie, who both work in the beer industry (and as a surprise to no one, have become really involved in the homebrewing community). This was an absolutely incredible trip – I can’t thank Katie and Tim enough for showing me such a wonderful time! I can’t wait to visit again someday.

Screen Shot 2015-12-12 at 3.18.55 PM

We got to hit up: Austin Beer Garden and Brewing Company, Real Ale Brewing C0. (which is where Katie does social media/PR – this place is unreal and I wish I could get Hans Pils all the time), Jester King (they do all barrel aged sours – so as you can imagine, I was in heaven. If you’re ever in Austin, rent a car to make the trek to this place. It is unbelievable),  Adelbert’s, and (512) Brewing. Special shout-outs to a couple bars I also really loved: The Gingerman, Craft Pride, and Banger’s Sausage House and Beer Garden. Definitely recommend checking those spots out if you’re in town.

Home

I’ve been trying to make a habit of making it home every other month now that I have a little nugget at home to hang out with. I was able to make it home for her first birthday party, which was a great time. I even got surprised by Lauren, which was so awesome and unexpected!

Here we are having a great time at Bailee’s party:

Screen Shot 2015-12-12 at 3.16.46 PM

On a more serious note, this trip home was the last time I got to spend time with our family dog Ghost. He was an amazing dog – I truly believe he was a once in a lifetime dog and I will never have a dog better than him. It’s still really hard for me to go home and not have him be there waiting for me on the couch or to have him cuddle with me in bed at night. I’ll always miss that dude, but am so grateful to have had him in my life for as long as we did.

Bonnaroo

I had the opportunity to go to Bonnaroo…. for work. I know what you’re thinking, wow Megan – you’re a real asshole. You get to do cool stuff like that and get PAID? Well – if that makes me an asshole, I can live with that #sorryimnotsorry. It was really amazing to get to go into Bonnaroo early to see everything get set up. It is a modern day miracle that this giant festival runs the way it does. It was hot as hell and a lot of work, but it was a great time.

Screen Shot 2015-12-12 at 3.11.44 PM

Highlights of Bonnaroo included: dressing up like the Statue of Liberty and running in a 5K around the campgrounds, getting to spend time with Lauren, Corey, and Andrew, staying in the brewer’s campground and making friends with the wonderful people at Schlafly, ending up backstage at D’Angelo with Rosalie, seeing Jon Hamm in the VIP tent, and finally getting to see Mumford and Sons and Florence and the Machine live.

Pro tips for Bonnaroo: Sunscreen, water, baby powder, wipes, bandanas, hand sanitizer, and did I mention water?

Kurt’s Bachelor Party – Outer Banks, NC

Screen Shot 2015-12-17 at 7.53.50 PM

Sometimes in life, you get the opportunity to be the only girl at a Bachelor Party. I’m really hyped Kurt either thought I was cool enough to be a part of his celebration or they just desperately needed another person to be a part of this to keep costs down (either way, it was a hell of a time). We rented a big condo across the street from the ocean. Since there were a rash of shark attacks, we spent most of the time in the pool at the house. While we did our fair share of partying, it was actually really relaxing most of the time and was a great way to wind down right after getting back from Bonnaroo.

Other Highlights of Q2 (told you a lot happened):

  • Kicking off Flight Night at the Samuel Adams Brewery
  • Boston Marathon
  • A freezing cold outdoor co-ed soccer tournament at UMass Amherst
  • Marine Corps Honor Run 5K
  • Boston Calling – thanks for making the trip out, Chris! Was awesome to see you as always 🙂
  • A community service day cleaning up the Granary Burial Ground with the Samuel Adams brand development team
Leave a Reply

